By Gretchen Reed, Mohonk Preserve Director of Marketing and Communications. Poughkeepsie Journal.
For more than half a century, Mohonk Preserve has provided a place of recreation, reflection and restoration to millions of people of all ages and abilities from across the nation and around the world.
The origins of the preserve date to 1869 when twin brothers Albert and Alfred Smiley purchased Mohonk Lake and established the Mohonk Mountain House. On Feb. 26, 1963, the Smiley family, friends, neighbors and supporters formed The Mohonk Trust to protect the area's unique natural landscape for future generations. The "property" of The Mohonk Trust on that day in 1963 consisted of $100, a gift from Mabel Craven Smiley. See full article online or view as a PDF.